California Department of Food and Ag Releases Draft Regulations on California's Medical Cannabis Cultivation Program
The California Department of Food and Agriculture (CDFA) today released proposed regulations for the state medical cannabis cultivation and licensing program.
Release of the draft regulations marks the official start of a 45-day public comment period provided under California law. All interested parties are encouraged to submit comments about the proposed regulations to CalCannabis, the branch of CDFA that is overseeing the cannabis cultivation regulatory framework.
You can read the proposed cannabis cultivation licensing regulations, as well as other documents released today, by clicking below:
Comment Card (optional to print out)
Comments may be submitted in writing during the 45-day open-comment period, or verbally at one of four public hearings that are planned. The hearing schedule is as follows:
Tuesday, May 16, 2017, 1pm-3pm
Delhi Center, Ballroom
505 East Central Avenue, Santa Ana, CA
Thursday, May 18, 2017, 1pm-3pm
Visalia Convention Center, Sequoia Room
303 East Acequia Avenue, Visalia, CA
Thursday, May 25, 2017, 1pm-3pm
Ukiah Convention Center, Cabernet Room
200 South School Street, Ukiah, CA
Wednesday, June 14, 2017, 1pm-3pm
California Department of Food and Agriculture Auditorium
1220 N Street, Sacramento, CA
The last day for the public to submit written comments apart from public hearings is Wednesday, June 14, 2017, by 5pm (PST).
There is currently budget trailer bill language designed to align the Medical Cannabis Safety and Regulation Act with Proposition 64, the Adult Use of Marijuana Act. If that bill passes, these proposed regulations will be withdrawn and a new set of regulations will be proposed that is consistent with changes in the law. However, public comments on the regulations published today are still very important, as many of the provisions in the licensing regulations published today will carry over to new regulations if the trailer bill passes.
CalCannabis is preparing to accept applications for state cannabis cultivation licenses beginning January 1, 2018.
For more information and updates on California’s cannabis cultivation licensing program, please visit CalCannabis at calcannabis.cdfa.ca.gov