Public Health & Safety Information
Get #weedwise Campaign
In June 2019, the Bureau of Cannabis Control announced the launch of a statewide public information program, “Get #weedwise”, encouraging consumers to only purchase cannabis from licensed businesses and warning unlicensed businesses to become licensed.
The “Get #weedwise” campaign includes extensive outreach educating consumers about the risks associated with cannabis purchased from unlicensed businesses. The campaign also educates unlicensed businesses about the need to be licensed and the consequences of continuing to operate without a license. Currently, all commercial cannabis businesses in California must be licensed by the state and comply with local rules related to commercial cannabis activity in their jurisdiction. Consumers can verify the legal status of a cannabis business by visiting the Bureau’s Online License Search at www.CApotcheck.com.
The Get #weedwise campaign is multilingual and will use a variety of advertising methods. For example, Get #weedwise digital advertising will warn consumers about dangerous, foreign material – including chemicals, mold and fecal matter – that can be found in illegal, untested cannabis. The campaign will also include alerts to illegal businesses informing them that they could face confiscation of cash or cannabis by engaging in unlicensed activity.
“We believe that this campaign will directly impact consumer safety by clarifying that only cannabis purchased from licensed retailers has met the state’s safety standards, while sending a clear message to unlicensed businesses that they need to get licensed or shut down.” -Lori Ajax, Chief of the Bureau of Cannabis Control
For materials and additional information about the “Get #weedwise” campaign, please visit the Bureau’s website.
Let’s Talk Cannabis
In September 2017, the California Department of Public Health (CDPH) launched its “Let’s Talk Cannabis,” health information and education campaign, detailing what’s legal in California and the potential health impacts of cannabis use. Senate Bill 94 (SB 94) – Medicinal and Adult Use Cannabis Regulation and Safety Act (MAUCRSA) – makes it legal for adults 21 or older to possess, consume and cultivate cannabis in California. Sale of cannabis from licensed retail outlets became legal January 1, 2018. The campaign emphasizes the following points:
- The scientific basis for restricting access of cannabis and cannabis products for persons under the age of 21 years.
- The penalties for providing access to cannabis and cannabis products to persons under the age of 21 years.
- The potential harms of using cannabis while pregnant or breastfeeding.
- The potential harms of overusing cannabis or cannabis products.
On CDPH’s website, individuals can find information about legal, safe and responsible use, and health information for youth, pregnant and breastfeeding women, parents and mentors, and health care providers. CDPH produced fact sheets with safe storage tips and the important things Californians need to know about purchasing and possessing cannabis for personal use. An educational digital toolkit for local governments and community organizations will be available in the future. CDPH has and will continue to incorporate the latest data available into public messages to increase awareness about how cannabis affects bodies, minds and health. For more information on CDPH’s cannabis education campaign, visit their website here.