State of California, Department of Cannabis Control

Equity Fee Waiver Request Form

Cannabis equity businesses in California may be eligible for a license fee waiver from the Department of Cannabis Control (DCC) if they meet certain criteria. Only one business per equity owner may apply for a fee waiver per licensure period. Use this form to request a fee waiver. DCC will process fee waiver requests in the order in which the license application or renewal has been approved.

Business Information

Business name:

License type:

Select one and fill in the corresponding information:

I am applying for a new license

Application number, if known:

Estimated gross revenue for first year of operations*:

I am renewing a license

License number:

License expiration date:

Gross revenue for current 12-month license period*:

Local Jurisdiction:

*Enter the business's gross revenue during the 12-month license period (for renewals) or expected during the first year of operation (for new applicants). Gross revenue must be \$5 million or less to qualify. Renewal applicants must include tax documentation verifying their gross revenue in their email to the DCC.

Attestation

With this signature, I attest that I am authorized to act on behalf of the commercial cannabis business requesting a fee waiver. I also attest that the qualified equity applicant(s) or licensee(s), either individually or in combination, own no less than 50 percent of the commercial cannabis business that is applying for licensure or is licensed.

Applicant name:

Applicant signature:



Equity ownership information

Identify each equity owner of the cannabis business. At least 50% of the business must be owned by individuals who meet the <u>equity criteria</u>. You can download an <u>additional equity ownership form</u> if you need to report more owners.

Owne	er name:			Ownership	%:
	Job title:	Email:		Phone:	
	Equity eligibility	:			
		Owner arrest	Owner conviction		
		Income			
		Number of dependents:			
	Disproportionately impacted county Unemployment and poverty census tract Immediate family member arrest				
	Immediate family member conviction				
	Is this owner a	locally-verified equi	ty applicant or licensee?	Yes*	No**
Owne	er name:			Ownership	%:
	Job title:	Email:		Phone:	
Equity eligibility:					
		Owner arrest	Owner conviction		
	Income				
	Number of dependents: Disproportionately impacted county Unemployment and poverty census tract Immediate family member arrest				
	Immediate family member conviction				
	Is this owner a locally-verified equity applicant or licensee? Yes*				No**
	• • • • • • • • • • • • • • • • • • • •				



*By selecting yes, the owner attests that: "Under penalty of perjury, I hereby declare that I am a locally verified equity applicant or licensee. I further declare that I satisfy at least one of the criteria set forth in 4 CCR 15014.1(d). I understand that the Department may investigate the accuracy of these declarations, and that a misrepresentation of fact is cause for rejection of this fee waiver request."

**Attach evidence of eligibility, as described on the following page, for each owner who is not a locallyverified equity applicant or licensee.



Instructions: Equity owner criteria and evidence

Individuals who meet <u>equity criteria</u> must own 50% or more of the cannabis business. Business owners can show they were impacted by past cannabis criminalization in a number of ways. You only need to meet one of the following criteria to qualify.

Conviction or arrest

The owner or an immediate family member was convicted of or arrested for a cannabis offense before November 8, 2016.

You can show proof of conviction or arrest using any of the following:

- Copies of federal or state court records that show the outcome of the case
- · Records showing dismissal or expungement
- Any other court or law enforcement record that show proof of conviction or arrest

Income

The owner's household income is less than or equal to 60 percent of the area median income for the local jurisdiction in which they live.

You can show proof of income using any of the following:

- Individual federal tax returns, state tax returns, or W-2s
- At least two consecutive paystubs
- Proof of eligibility for a program that provides financial aid to adults without enough income
 or resources, such as CalFresh, MediCal, CalWORKS, supplemental security income, or social
 security disability

The records must include the equity owner's name and be dated within two years of the date of the fee waiver request.

Neighborhood

The owner lived for at least five years between 1980 and 2016 in an area disproportionately impacted by past criminal justice policies implementing cannabis prohibition. Use our <u>map</u> tool to see if you lived in a qualifying area.

You can show proof of residence using any **two** of the following:

- California Driver's License or State Identification Card
- Property tax bill or payment, or evidence that the owner is exempt from property tax payment
- Signed rental agreement, or deed or title to residential property
- Copies of state or federal tax returns
- School records
- Banking or credit card records
- Voter registration
- Credit reports
- Utility, cable, or internet billing or payment records



The records must include the equity owner's name, show an address in the jurisdiction, and be dated between 1980 and 2016.

