Cannabis Advisory Committee Meeting: Thursday, March 9, 2023

Members present (16) :

Amber Baur Matthew Broad Dr. Imani Brown Jeremy Brown Robin Christensen Matthew Clifford Christine De la Rosa Antonio Frazier Joann Iwamoto Ali Jamalian Matthew Maldonado Kristin Nevedal Sara Payan-Pehrson Madison Shockley, III Paul Tupy David Woolsey

Committee members absent:

Terry Brennand Dr. Ellicott Matthay

DCC Staff Present:

Christina Dempsey Shannon George Sara Gardner

Meeting Moderator: Nina Lemke, DCC Leonard Lithen, DCC

Minutes Taken By: Margaret Goldbar, Department of Cannabis Control

Meeting Minutes – Thursday, March 9, 2023, 10:00 am

Committee Administration

Call to order and roll call
 Chair Jamalian called the meeting to order at 10:02 am.
 Quorum established.

2. Review and possible approval of December 15, 2022, meeting minutes

Chair Jamalian welcomed the two new members, Robin Christensen and Joann Iwamoto.

Members took a few minutes to review the minutes.

Member Brown made a motion to approve the minutes as is. The motion was seconded by Member Tupy. Public Comment: No public comments on this agenda item Motion: Approve the minutes as is Vote: Ayes: 14 Nays: None Not present: Baur, de la Rosa

Minutes approved

General Public Comment

3. Public comments for items not on the agenda

Public Comments provided by:

Anthony Avalos Diana Esmerelda Thomas Mulder Susan Tibben Joanna Cedar Shona

Committee Administration

4. Cultivation Subcommittee Update

Vice Chair Nevedal gave an update on the cultivation subcommittee **Subcommittee Recommendation 1:** Recommend that DCC provide a simple and immediate pathway to cultivators that allows a cultivator to fallow all or a portion of their mature plant canopy area at a reduced and/or prorated rate, so that the fallowing request may be retracted should the cultivator choose to plant. Subcommittee Recommendation 2: Recommend that DCC provide a simple and immediate pathway that allows a cultivation license holder to reduce the type and/or size of their cultivation license permanently without requiring a new application submittal or a new application review process, so long as the proposal for the permanent downscaling of the cultivation license does not increase environmental impacts, does not propose additional activities, does not propose a reconfiguration of the premises, and does not propose new development.

Public Comments provided by:

Paul Hansbury Bram Goodman Claire Diana Esmerelda Judy Strang Kelly McCormick. Shona Thomas Mulder Alicia Byrd Kathleen Lippet Jeremy Freitas Jackie Semyon

Member Baur then asked to table the vote on the motion and to continue discussion Discussion continued very briefly.

Vice Chair Nevedal made a motion to adopt the recommendations proposed by the Cultivation Subcommittee. The motion was seconded by **Member Woolsey.**

Motion: Adopt the recommendations as presented by the Cultivation Subcommittee

Vote:

Aye: 15

Nays: None

Member Baur originally abstained, when we returned to clarify we could not accept an abstain vote, she was not available.

Motion passes

5. Public Health and Community Impact Subcommittee Update

Member Woolsey presented an update about the PHCI subcommittee, as **Member Matthay** was on maternity leave.

No recommendations were presented at this time.

Public Comments were provided by:

Becky Rapp Kathleen Lippet Alicia Byrd Diana Esmerelda Jackie Symeon Jesse Noble Joanna Cedar Judy Strang Kelly McCormic P. Walker Sarah Armstrong

6. Medicinal Use Subcommittee Update

Member Payan gave an update on the Medical Use Subcommittee.

No recommendations were presented at this time.

Member Frazier asked DCC staff about the best way to get presenters to present data at subcommittee meetings.

Deputy Director Dempsey responded that they can email DCC who will make the arrangements.

Public Comments were provided by:

Paul Hansbury Shona Dr. Sherry Yafai Judy Strang P. Walker Anthony Avalos Kelly McCormick Sara Armstrong Diana Esmerelda Comments closed at 11:59

7. Laboratory Subcommittee Update

Member Frazier gave an update on the laboratory subcommittee and outlined his topics for prioritization.

Public Comments were provided by:

Paul Hansbury Travis Ruthenberg Josh Swider Anthony Avalos Diana Esmerelda Judy Strang Steve Jesse Noble Richard Miller Comments closed at 12:18 pm

Chair Jamalian called for a 45-minute recess to return at 1 pm

Quorum re-established

8. Equity Subcommittee Update

Member Shockley gave an update on the equity subcommittee.
Subcommittee Recommendation 1: Recommend to the main CAC that DCC conduct a statewide social equity assessment to collect data statewide.
Member Payan made a motion to adopt the recommendation as is.
This was seconded by Member Shockley.
Vote was tabled pending public comments.
Public Comments were provided by: Anthony Avalos Diana Esmerelda Shona Comments closed at 1:20 pm

Motion: adopt the recommendation as is.

Proposed by Member Payan. Seconded by Member Shockley.

Votes:

Ayes: 14

Nays: None

Not present at time of vote: J. Brown, Nevedal

9. Presentation: Local Jurisdiction Retail Access Grants

Deputy Director Dempsey gave a presentation on the Local Jurisdiction Retail Access Grants

The committee and DCC staff then discussed the specifics of the program.

Public Comments were provided by:

Diana Esmerelda Jesse Noble Judy Strang Reta Kelly McCormick P. Walker Shona Comments closed at 2:06

10. Recommendations for future agenda items

Member Frazier requested to discuss education campaigns about either the illicit hemp market or industry insight into how to reduce the detrimental impact of the war on drugs.

The request was echoed by **Chair Jamalian**, **Dr. Brown**, and **Member Baur**. **Chair Jamalian** also requested to discuss how the DCC can help licensees when we have packaging compliance changes, including how to address packaging waste. **Public Comments** were provided by:

Paul Hansbury Jesse Noble Judy Strang Shona Diana Esmerelda Becky Rapp P. Walker Joanna Cedar Kelly McCormick Comments closed at 2:23

11. Adjournment

Chair Jamalian adjourned the meeting at 2:23pm.