Meeting Minutes

Cannabis Advisory Committee Meeting: Thursday, September 19th, 2024

Committee members present (11):

Avery Cohen
Antonio Frazier
Bonnie Halpern-Felsher
Kristin Heidelbach
Diana Huynh
Brandon Levine
Sara Payan-Pehrson
Michael Polson
Steven Ramirez
Andrew Smith
Paul Tupy
Scott Vasterling

Committee members absent:

Carmela Beck Matthew Broad

DCC Staff Present:

Jacqueline Campion Sara Gardner

Meeting Moderators:

Nina Lemke, DCC Katie O'Brien, DCC

Minutes Taken By:

Margaret Goldbar, DCC

Meeting Minutes - Thursday, September 19th, 2024, 10:00 am



1. Call to order and roll call

The meeting was called to order at 10:03 a.m.

2. Welcome

DCC Director Nicole Elliott welcomed the members of the Committee.

3. Introductions

Committee members each provided a brief introduction.

4. Election of the Chair and Vice Chair

Member Payan put herself forth as a candidate for Chair. Her nomination was seconded by **Member Smith**.

Member Vasterling also put himself forth as a candidate for chair. His nomination was seconded by **Member Frazier**.

Member Halpern-Felsher nominated herself for Vice Chair.

The floor was then opened for public comments.

Public Comments Provided by:

Marissa

Two rounds of votes were taken at this time, with both **Member Vasterling** and **Member Payan** received an equal number of votes.

Member Payan was supported by Members Cohen, Halpern-Felsher, Heidelbach, Huynh, Tupy, and herself.

Member Vasterling was supported by Members Frazier, Levine, Polson, Ramirez, Smith, and himself.

At this time a recess was called for ten minutes.

When the committee re-convened, **Member Payan** then withdrew her nomination for Chair and instead nominated herself for Vice Chair.

Votes for Member Vasterling to be elected Chair:

Ayes:

Cohen

Frazier

Halpern-Felsher

Heidelbach

Huynh

Levine



Payan Polson Ramirez Smith

Vasterling

Nays:

None

Motion passed.

Member Vasterling was elected as Chair.

Member Frazier then nominated **Member Payan** for Vice Chair. The nomination was seconded by **Member Tupy**.

Votes for Member Payan to be elected Vice Chair:

Ayes:

Cohen

Frazier

Halpern-Felsher

Heidelbach

Huynh

Levine

Payan

Polson

Ramirez

Smith

Vasterling

Nays:

None

Motion passed.

Member Payan was elected as Vice Chair.

Public Comments provided by:

Marissa

5. Adoption of the March Meeting Minutes

Member Tupy motioned to adopt the meeting minutes. He was seconded by Member Halpern-Felsher.

No public comments were received on this agenda item.

Votes to adopt the March Meeting Minutes:

Ayes:

Cohen



Frazier

Halpern-Felsher

Heidelbach

Huynh

Levine

Payan

Polson

Ramirez

Smith

Vasterling

Nays:

None

Motion passed.

6. Adoption of the June Meeting Minutes

Member Tupy motioned to adopt the meeting minutes. He was seconded by Member Halpern-Felsher.

No public comments were received on this agenda item.

Votes to adopt the June Meeting Minutes:

Ayes:

Cohen

Frazier

Halpern-Felsher

Heidelbach

Huynh

Levine

Payan

Polson

Ramirez

Smith

Vasterling

Nays:

None

Motion passed.

7. Public Comments for Items not on the Agenda

Public comments provided by:

Ross Gordon

Adrian Keys

Dan Geratos

Diana Gamzon

Marco Troiani

Natalynn



Oliver Bates

Hannah Whyte

John Brower

Pay Maylo

Dustin Gibees

Madelana Narmania

Marissa ETA

Sam de la Paz

Tamara

Tyler Everett

Indy Riggs

Sarah Armstrong

Sequoyah Hudson

8. Presentation of the Upcoming Proposed Change to Cultivation Regulations

DCC Deputy Director of Policy and Research Jacqueline Campion gave an overview of the proposed changes.

The committee recessed and reconvened at 1:00 pm. Roll was taken, and quorum re-established. **Member Smith moved to strike subsection(b)(5)(A)-(F) from section 15049.1 from the regulations.**

He was seconded by **Member Levine** and **Member Cohen**.

Public comments were opened on this motion.

Public comments provided by:

Amber Morris

Ross Gordon

Sequoyah Hudson

Tamara

Votes on the motion:

Ayes:

Cohen

Frazier

Halpern-Felsher

Heidelbach

Huynh

Levine

Payan

Polson

Ramirez

Smith

Vasterling

Nays:

None



Motion passed.

Discussion then continued on the topic of possibly striking section 15011 subsection (a)(12). **Member Polson** moved to strike the section. No second was received.

Member Polson and **Chair Vasterling** recommended that the topic be taken up by the cultivation subcommittee instead of the full committee.

Chair Vasterling then opened the floor for public comment on the proposed changes.

Public Comments provided by:

Ross Gordon Sequoyah Hudson Eric Paulson Diana Gamzon Marissa ETA

9. Adjournment

Meeting adjourned at 1:54 p.m.

