Skip to content
2018 announcements

Cannabis Cultivation Licensees: Compliance & Enforcement Inspections Are In Progress

We would like to remind all state-licensed cannabis cultivators that the Compliance and Enforcement branch of CalCannabis Cultivation Licensing, a division of the California Department of Food and Agriculture (CDFA), is now conducting inspections across the state. We are notifying licensees through email or a phone call of their scheduled inspection date and four-hour appointment window.

Please note that, per Title 3 of the California Code of Regulations section 8501, we have the right to inspect your site any time between 8am and 5pm, Monday through Friday. Although not required, we are providing advance notice of our visits as a courtesy. Future inspections may not be announced. Failure to allow access for an inspection is a serious violation, with fines ranging from $1,001 to $5,000 per incident.

We always encourage grow-site staff to ask anyone representing CDFA to show his or her credentials, which include a photo identification.

For more information on the state’s cannabis cultivation licensing process, please visit the CalCannabis website or call 1-833-CALGROW. Thank you.