Skip to content
Press Releases

Licensing Authorities Announce Proposed Readoption of Emergency Cannabis Regulations

May 18, 2018

SACRAMENTO – The Bureau of Cannabis Control, California Department of Public Health and California Department of Food and Agriculture have proposed to readopt their emergency regulations that are currently in effect, extending the time those regulations are in effect for another 180-day period. The three licensing authorities are proposing some changes to the regulatory provisions to provide greater clarity to licensees and to address issues that have arisen since the emergency regulations went into effect.

Highlighted among the proposed changes is that applicants may now complete one license application and obtain one license to conduct medicinal and adult-use cannabis activity. Additionally, licensees may continue to engage in commercial cannabis activities with other licensees regardless of designation as this provision is no longer limited by time.

“These proposed changes to our emergency regulations are based on feedback from our stakeholders, and information gathered over the first four months of implementation,” said Bureau of Cannabis Control Chief Lori Ajax.

Other highlighted changes from each licensing authority’s proposed emergency regulations can be viewed by clicking the following links listed below:

Bureau of Cannabis Control:

California Department of Food and Agriculture:

California Department of Public Health:

PUBLIC COMMENT: The proposed readoption of the emergency regulations will be subject to a public comment period. The public comment period will begin when the California Office of Administrative Law (OAL) posts the proposed emergency regulations on its website and will last 5 calendar days. The posting may not occur before May 25, 2018, to allow for the 5 working day notice to the public that the licensing authorities provided today.

The emergency regulations were developed to implement the Medicinal and Adult-Use Cannabis Regulation and Safety Act (MAUCRSA), which was signed into law in June 2017. The initial emergency regulations became effective on December 7, 2017, and remain in effect for 180 days. The readoption will allow the emergency regulations, as modified, to be in effect for an additional 180 days. During this time, the three licensing authorities will engage in the regular rulemaking process to develop final regulations.

For additional information about the proposed readoption of the emergency regulations, or to subscribe to email alerts to hear about updates as they become available, please visit the Bureau’s website at For information on all three state licensing authorities, please visit the state’s California Cannabis Portal at /. Follow the Bureau on Facebook, Twitter and Instagram for daily news and updates.

Those looking to get in touch with the Bureau of Cannabis Control can call our Call Center at (833) 768-5880, or send an email to